top of page

18th Century Dress

Many years ago I decided to sew myself an 18th century dress. Because I wanted to know what it felt like wearing one, and also because they're fabulous! I've only worn it to parties three times since then, but earlier this fall I also got to use it for a photo shoot with photographer Charlotte Hall. For those of you interested in the actual dress, I'll start by giving you some info about that!

I have to admit I cheated a bit when I sewed it. In the 18th century, the first thing you put on, closest to your body, was a chemise - sort of like a white nightgown. The white lace ruffles at the end of the sleeves was attached to this chemise, and when you had put the whole dress on, you pulled these out of the sleeves of the outer robe. Instead of a chemise, I just start by putting on a half slip, so the panniers - the "hip baskets" - won't rub against my legs. The second thing I didn't do properly is that the corset is to be put on secondly, after the chemise, and then the part of the corset visible between the open edges of the robe, was covered by a stomacher, which is a decorated triangular panel. This part I also skipped, and simply let the corset be shown a little. I know. I'm a slut showing off my lingerie like that... Haha!

The corset has 52 steel bones in it. What took the longest in making this dress was probably cutting those pieces into pretty much 26 differently sized lengths, filing down the sharp corners, and then covering them with white Hammerite paint, so the bones won't chafe through the fabric. The panniers also have long pieces of corset steel in them to make them keep their - and the whole dress' - shape.

So, here are some pics showing the different pieces of the dress:

1. Panniers.

2. Petticoat.

3. Skirt.

4. Corset.

5. Robe.

I made the robe out of the same fabric as the corset and skirt, turned outside-in, as the back of the fabric was such a lovely, dark burgundy, and then I sewed black ribbons to the front edges, that I tie into bows over the front of the corset.

And now, a few pics from the actual shoot!

We also got to borrow a dog from a friendly woman passing by. This is Karlsson, and that day he started his modeling career!

First five fotos by me.

The rest of the photos, the good ones, by Charlotte Hall.

Assisstant: Elin Kyrk.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page